I am a tree


trees

I am a tree
A tall tall tree
There are many things that I can see 
I look above 
I look below 
So may things that I can show 
I see the birds flying high in the skies 
Making circles like huge mud pies 
And at nights where do they go 
On my branches both high and low. 

I am a tree 
There are many things that I can see 
I see the snails, 
Going oh so slow 
Up my trunk , it is their bunk 
Then there’s the butterfly 
Fluttering through my branches 
It feels so good, 
It makes me do the crunches 

I am a tree 
There are so many things that I can see 
I see the factories billowing out smoke 
I see the child ready to choke 
I see the garbage flowing down the stream 
Oh if you could see 
It would make you scream 
I see the fisherman with the tiny fish 
Oops that can never male a delicious dish. 

I am a tree 
There are so many things that I can see
I see the man, the woman, the boy the girl 
I see that the world is in a swirl 
I see them , and I see you 
Oh I beg, what can you do? 
I see the man coming with the saw 
To cut me down, 
Against that there is no law.

I am a tree 
There are so many things that I can see 
I want to live to tell the tale 
Of things happening from mountain to vale 
I am a tree 
A tall tall tree 
There are so many things that I can see 
Save the trees, save the earth 
We are the guardians of nature’s birth. 

*Laleta Davis
 

 

2 responses to “I am a tree

Leave a Reply

