The home


long-distance-love

Though I have  travelled far
from my home’s smoky yard
to wander across
this stone temple’s compound
in an ancient city,
these stone figurines would not
spring to life in me.

Wistful faces
of the children I’ve left behind
turn silently
in my memory.

Like the wind rasping constantly
on the sea’s surface,
my home, laden with
the weight of my absences,
abrades my heart.

My home’s empty spaces
banish me, indirectly,
from this land;
and I return, resolving
never to step beyond
the limits decreed,
to the courtyard of my own house.

 

 

*SALMA Via  Kalyan Raman

2 responses to “The home

Leave a Reply

