Oldest Love Poem



flowers1

From Eight century BC inscription  and belonging to the Ancient Babylonian Era This is described as the world’s oldest known love poem. According to the Sumerian belief, it was a sacred duty for the king to marry every year a priestess instead of Inanna, the goddess of fertility and sexual love, in order to make the soil and women fertile. This poem was most probably written by a bride

 

Bridegroom, dear to my heart,

 Goodly is your beauty, honey sweet,

 Lion, dear to my heart,

 Goodly is your beauty, honey sweet.

 

Bridegroom, let me caress you,

 My precious caress is more savory than honey,

 In the bedchamber, honey-filled,

 Let me enjoy your goodly beauty,

 Lion, let me caress you,

 My precious caress is more savory than honey.

 Bridegroom, you have taken your pleasure of me,

 Tell my mother, she will give you delicacies,

 My father, he will give you gifts.

 

 

You, because you love me,

 Give me pray of your caresses,

 My lord god, my lord protector,

Give my pray of your caresses

 

Leave a Reply

