Love and promises


 

 

I was so lucky to have found you.
To love and be loved by you
but you’re not going to be the one I spend the rest of my life with
and this whole time
I will pretend like I don’t know it’s coming but in my heart,
I know that there is someone much better for us out there,
swirling in the universe.
You will find her and when you do,
you’ll know it. I promise.
You’ll understand then why we couldn’t be together 
we were not made for each other.
we were meant to teach one another love,
so the next time it occurs to us,
we can do it better.
so the next time we think we’ve found love, again.
we can recognize it with our eyes closed.

 

*abagail Pacheco

Leave a Reply

