sad about roses


Rose

I planted my roses in a crystal vase

My hopes in a paper cup.

I did not take the right path

I dropped the words out of my pockets

in the drains of these narrow streets

I let them get lost.

I forgot how to forgive

my younger self

I prayed that those rumors would stop producing echoes

in my eardrums

I have no voice to speak

my soles are worn out from too much running

and I no longer remember the sound of the waves in the shells.

But there’s a silver lining

tattooed on my wrist

indelibly marked as the scars on my knee

and nothing is lost when I remember

that there is still time.

because when I will get up in the morning

from a restless night of broken dreams

I will know that I have a chance

to lean out

and breathe

listen to the sound of all the things i do not know

I do not own

yet.. and water my roots with a paper cup

 

*Tumblr

Leave a Reply

