when i arrive


love

If asked who I am, tell them I am Ada
The name scrolled on my fair body, in the color of henna

The moon perches by my side at times;
and at others the colors of evening cloak me

Let’s float about in the Jhelum,
till love is allowed to blossom in the valley once again

When I arrive, see me as your morning;
and if I leave, say I was a gust of wind
When it snows, right down my name on it as a wish

The way nights come to put out evenings,
You have come to put an end of my nights

Your smile makes the sun shine brighter
The comfort of your embraces make the days drift off

When the day comes, make me sit next to you
And if we get another tomorrow, make the sun rise on my forehead

We’ll always have our bit of sunshine
And we’ll always have our share or colors.

 

 

~GULZAR~

Leave a Reply

