Mother


mother-and-child

 

How blessed a mother I am,
In my lap is cradled
Two religions,and their confluence:
The hood of my sari is but a little
Confluence of ‘Gita’ and Qura’an’.,
How blessed a mother Iam.

I witness two cultures flow
Into one mould and become one:
The dreams of Akbar and Ashoka
I witness crystallising in my backyad,
How blessed a mother I am.

For which other yearn for centuries,
I have that blessing bestowed upon me,
Entwined in a single thread of love,
The belssing of a Hindustan,
How blessed a mother I am.

Their breasts emblazoned with wounds,
Andh their lips ablaze with slogars of freedom,
With such decoration, my two sons
Have arrived at their mother’s door,
How blessed a mother I am.

The two nurtured by me,
Will be the Pride of India,
To be a mother like me,
Every mother will aspire,
How blessed a mother I am.

The corpse of one son lies hither,
The other corpse lies thither,
One head smeared with the blood of the other
The others smeared with this one’s blood
On whom should I place the wreath first,
On whom should I first place the shroud,
Purveyors of death, you Politicians
Can you explain to me
How blessed a mother I am.

 

~SAHIR~

Leave a Reply

