Love blossoms


Love

When I aquired the knowledge of love,
I dreaded the mosque.

I fled to my Lords dwelling,
Where a thousand sounds reverberate.

When love revealed its mystery to me,
The parroted words vanishes.
Inside and out, I was cleansed.
I saw my Beloved wherever I looked.

Heer and Ranjha are already one.
But Heer, deluded, still searches the woods.
Here Ranjha is with her,
And she does not even know it.

I am tired to read the Vedas and the Koran!
Obeisance has only abraded my forehead.
God was not in Mecca, nor any holy place.
But whoever finds Him …. becomes brightly illuminated.

Burn the prayer rug, break the clay pot,
Divest yourself of rosary, bowl and staff.

Bulleh says, I would have remained silent,
It is love … that compels me to speak forcefully.
The blossoming of love … is strange and wonderful.

 

-Bulleh Shah-

Leave a Reply

