My guests


Early Morning they come to my room
Wake me up with familiar tune.

Whole day they stay by my side
Jumping and flying, full of life
Taking food, whatever and when they want
Their countless choices can end your life.

They make cozy nests in my dining hall,
Not bothered whether dwellers are big and tall.
In them, the newborns cry in rhythmic tune,
Make unending demands as they are never full.

With parents busy scavenging and hunting,
We peep in to find how different are those being?

We are born fragile and afraid,
Not knowing what lies ahead,
Our parents feed and protect us,
Able enough to embrace the new world ahead

I asked myself What right do we have to deny them of their home?
When we cut down trees to make our home;
I’m proud of helping my friends to build their nest,
For they are my truly loving and gentle guests.

Sayantan Modak-

Leave a Reply

