absence


If I die you survive with such sheer force
to awaken the fury of the pale and cold,
South-South up your indelible eyes,
from sun to sun sounds your mouth guitar.
I do not want your laughter falter nor your ways,
I do not want my legacy to die of joy,
do not knock on my chest, in my absence.
Live in my absence as in a home.
It ‘a house so big absence
that will enter into it through the walls
and hang it in the air paintings.
It ‘a house so transparent absence
that without life, I see you live
and if you suffer, my love, I will die again.

– Pablo Neruda –

Leave a Reply

