cold close


In my pain nothing is moving
Of what I myself was
Look, no one will
Neither by day nor night nor ever
My eyes are separated from your eyes
Lose confidence lose the light
My mouth is separate from your mouth
My mouth is separated from pleasure
And the sense of love and the meaning of life
My hands are separated in your hands
My hands let slip all
My feet are separated from your feet
Will stop advancing, there are no more roads
They do not know neither the weight nor the rest
I have given my life to see an end
With your
My life is in your hands
I believed infinite
And the future of my only hope is my tomb
Identical to your surrounded by an indifferent world
I was so close to you that I’m cold close to others.

# Paul Eluard

Leave a Reply

